Labor Law Updates

Sign up to be notified when labor laws change

Your privacy is important to us. We do not share your personal information with any third parties and will only notify you when state or federal labor law changes require a new poster.

Federal Contractor January 2021 Federal Contractor Minimum Wage
  • Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage for Federal Contractors increases to $10.95/hour
Massachusetts January 2021 Wage & Hour Laws
  • Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to $13.50/hour for most employees and $5.55/hour for tipped employees.
Shop now
New Mexico January 2021 Minimum Wage
  • Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to

    • $10.50/hour for most employees, and
    • $2.55/hour for tipped employees.
Shop now
Vermont January 2021 Minimum Wage
  • Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to
    • $11.75/hour for most employees, and
    • $5.88/hour for tipped employees.
Shop now
New York January 2021 Minimum Wage
  • Effective December 31st, 2020, the minimum wage is set to
    • $15.00/hour for employers in New York City,
    • $14.00/hour in Long Island and Westchester County, and
    • $12.50/hour for employers in the rest of the state.
Shop now
Colorado January 2021 Minimum Wage – Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards (December 2020)
  • Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to
    • $9.30/hour for tipped employees, and
    • $12.32/hour for all other employees.
  • The exempt salary minimum has increased to $40,500 per year.
Healthy Families and Workplaces Act
  • HFWA requires 1 hour of leave earned per 30 hours worked, to a maximum of 48 hours paid leave a year. Up to 48 hours of unused accrued leave will carry over into the next year.
  • 80 hours of supplemental paid leave to apply in public health emergencies, until 4 weeks after the public health emergency ends
  • Employers with 16 employees or more are required to provide paid leave under the law.
  • Employees may use accrued leave for any of the following reasons:
    • A mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition that prevents work, including diagnosis/preventative care,
    • Domestic abuse, sexual assault, or criminal harassment,
    • A family member experiencing a condition described above, or
    • A public health official closed the workplace or a place of care for the employee’s child.
  • During a public health emergency (PHE), employees may use supplemental leave when:
    • Self-isolating or being excluded from work due to exposure, symptoms, or diagnosis of the communicable illness in the PHE,
    • Seeking diagnosis or care for the illness,
    • Unable to work due to a health condition that increases susceptibility or risk regarding the illness, or
    • Caring for a child or family member in a situation as described above, or whose school or childcare is unavailable due to the PHE.
  • Employees continue to earn up to 48 hours of accrued leave during a PHE and may use supplemental leave before accrued leave.
  • Paid leave cannot be considered as an ‘absence’ resulting in the adverse action, and employers cannot require employees to find a replacement or coverage when requesting leave.
  • Employees are protected from retaliation for:
    • requesting leave,
    • informing others of their rights under the law,
    • filing a complaint, or
    • assisting in an investigation of a complaint.
  • Employees CAN face consequences for misused leave, but not for a good-faith complaint, request, or other activity.
  • The notice lists the type of documentation employers may require under specific circumstances, as well as recourse if they believe the reason/documentation is insufficient.
  • Leave can be taken in six-minute or one-hour increments
  • Employers must be able to provide documentation on both the amount of available leave and the amount of leave used for each employee. This information may be requested once per month or when the need for leave arises.
  • Employers are prohibited from requesting ’details’ of employees’ or the employee’s family’s HFWA-related health information. This information is considered a confidential medical record.
Colorado – Whistleblower Act (PHEW) (December 2020)
  • The notice uses and defines the terms “principal” and “ worker”:
  • Any employer in Colorado, and any business in Colorado with 5 or more independent contractors, is a covered “principal” that must comply with PHEW. The federal government is exempt from this law.
  • An employee or an independent contractor at a “principal” is a “worker” covered by the law.
  • Under the new law, it is illegal to retaliate against or interfere with the following acts during and related to a public health emergency:
    • raising reasonable concerns about workplace violations of government health or safety rules, or about a significant workplace threat to health or safety. This can be a formal or informal complaint to any person.
    • Opposing or testifying, assisting, or participating in a proceeding about a violation as mentioned above.
  • An employer cannot retaliate against a worker’s good-faith, reasonable complaint, request, or other covered activity, even if the worker was incorrect. However, workers can face consequences for misusing PHEW rights or other misconduct.
  • A worker must be allowed to voluntarily wear their own PPE, such as a mask, faceguard, or gloves if that PPE:
    • Provides more protection than the equipment provided at the workplace;
    • Is recommended by a government health agency; and
    • Does not prevent the worker from doing their job.
  • Employee’s complaint rights for both laws are listed on the notice.
California January 2021 Minimum Wage

Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to:

  • $13.00/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • $14.00/hour for employers with 26 or more employees.
Family Care, Medical Leave, & Pregnancy Disability Leave.
  • The CFRA has been updated to cover employees who work for employers with 5 or more employees (previously, it was 50 or more).
  • Employees must have more than 12 months of service with the employer and have had worked at least 1,250 hours in the 12-month period before the date leave is started.
  • New Parent Leave Act (NPLA) has been removed from both notices.
  • New Revision Date of January 2021.
Your Rights and Obligations as a Pregnant Employee
  • The section “Additional Leave Under the California Family Rights Act” has been updated to reflect the changes to the CFRA Notice.
  • New Revision Date of January 2021.
Alaska January 2021 Minimum Wage
  • Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to $10.34/hour.
Shop now
Missouri December 2020 Minimum Wage

Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to:

  • $10.30 for private employees
  • $5.15 for tipped employees
Shop now
Washington November 2020 Minimum Wage

Washington – Minimum Wage (November 2020)

  • The minimum wage will increase to $13.69 per hour
  • Workers under 16 years old may be paid 85% of the minimum wage ($11.64 per hour)
  • Effective January 1st, 2021
Your Rights as a Worker

Washington – Your Rights as a Worker (November 2020)

  • New section titled ‘Equal Pay Opportunity Act’ has been added to the notice
Florida November 2020 Minimum Wage
  • The minimum wage will increase to
    • $8.65 per hour for non-tipped workers, and
    • $5.63 per hour, in addition to tips, for tipped workers.


  • Effective January 1st, 2021.


Shop now
Maine November 2020 Minimum Wage
  • The minimum wage will increase to $12.15 per hour.
  • The minimum wage for tipped employees as defined on the notice will increase to $6.08 per hour. If the employee does not earn the state minimum wage from weekly earned tips combined with the lower minimum wage, the employer must pay the difference.
  • Effective January 1st, 2021.
Regulations of Employment
  • A section on Earned Paid Leave.
  • Effective January 1st, 2021,
    • Employers with more than 10 employees who are employed for more than 120 days per year must provide paid leave based on the employee’s base pay.
    • Paid leave is accrued at one hour for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours in one year.
    • Accrual of leave begins at the start of employment, but employers are not required to permit the use of paid leave before the 120th day of employment in one year.
  • The sections on Severance Pay and Mandatory Overtime have been removed from the notice.
    New Revision date of 10/20.
Rhode Island October 2020 Minimum Wage (November 2020)
  • Effective October 1st, 2020, the minimum wage will increase to
    • $10.35 for full-time students under 19 working in certain non-profit organizations
    • $8.63 for minors 14 to 15 working, not more than 24 hours a week
    • $3.89 to tipped employees
    • $11.50 for all other employees
Shop now
Arizona October 2020 Minimum Wage
  • Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to $12.15/hour.
Shop now
Maryland October 2020 Maryland – Equal Pay for Equal Work
  • Maryland’s Equal Pay Act has been amended to create several new employer obligations and add applicant/employee protections regarding salaries, salary inquiries, and salary histories.
  • Employers are required to provide the wage range for the position in question upon an applicant’s request.
  • Employers cannot:
    • seek or request an applicant’s wage history in writing, orally, through an employee or agent, or from a current or former employer.
    • retaliate against, or refuse to interview, hire, or employ an applicant because the applicant requested the wage range for the position in question, or because they chose not to provide their wage history.
    • rely upon an applicant’s wage history in screening or considering the applicant for employment or in determining wages.
    • take adverse employment action against an employee for asking about the employee’s own wages.
  • Employers may confirm and rely on voluntarily provided wage history to support a higher wage offer than the initial offer if the higher wage does not create an unlawful pay differential based on sex or gender identity.
Shop now
Minnesota October 2020 Minimum Wage
  • $10.08/hour for large employers, and
  • $8.21/hour for small employers, training wages, youth wages, and workers with a J-1 Visa.
  • Effective January 1, 2021
Shop now
Ohio October 2020 Minimum Wage
  • Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage will increase to
    • $8.80/hour for non-tipped employees, and
    • $4.40/hour tipped employees.
Shop now
Connecticut August 2020 Wage and Workplace Standards Divisions  – Minimum Wage
  • $12.00 per hour effective September 1, 2020
  • $13.00 per hour effective August 1, 2021
  • $14.00 per hour effective July 1, 2022
  • $15.00 per hour effective July 1, 2023
Youth Wages
  • Minors under 18 years of age employed by the state or political subdivision thereof may be paid 85% of the applicable minimum wage.
Washington D.C. July 2020 Paid Family Leave
  • New law, effective July 1, 2020 – notice must be posted by Feb. 1, 2020
  • Under the law, covered employees may take up to 8 weeks of leave in a year. Employees may use benefits for the following:
    • Parental leave to bond with a new child (up to 8 weeks)
    • Family leave to care for a family member (up to 6 weeks)
    • Medical leave for an employee’s own serious health condition (up to 2 weeks)
  • Publication Date of 12/2019
Workers' Compensation
  • Employers must send a copy of the First Report of Injury or Occupational Disease form to the nearest claim office or their insurer no later than 10 working days after knowledge of the injury or disease.
  • New Revision Date of 3/2017
Louisiana July 2020 Louisiana – EITC
  • Rates have been updated for 2020.
Shop now
Oregon July 2020 Minimum Wage
  • The minimum wage has increased across the state, and is broken into 3 groups by counties:
    • Standard – $12.00 per hour
    • Portland Metro Area – $13.25 per hour
    • Non-Urban Counties – $11.50 per hour
  • Each region is defined on the notice
  • The notice has been simplified and information regarding meal & rest periods, final paycheck, and domestic service employment has been removed
  • The effective date of 7/1/20
  • Notice has been rebranded for increased legibility. There is no significant change to the text.
  • Both the English and Spanish notices have been updated.
  • The new effective date of 3/20
Mississippi June 2020 Unemployment Insurance for Employees

Unemployment Insurance for Employees (June 2020)

  • The new version of the notice gives more specific information on:
    • Who is eligible to file a claim.
    • When an employee can file a claim.
    • How to file a claim.
    • What information is required to file a claim?
Workers’ Compensation Notice of Coverage (June 2020)    
  • The notice has been reformatted.
New Jersey June 2020 New Jersey Law Prohibits Worker Misclassification
  • The new notice defines worker misclassification, as well as the designations of ‘Employee’ and ‘Contractor’ under New Jersey Law.
  • People who work and are paid are assumed to be employees unless the employer can establish all three parts of the ‘ABC’ test. This is the case regardless of whether the employee received a 1099 or W-2, or if an employee signed an independent contractor agreement.
  • The law states that the burden to prove who is or is not an employee falls on the employer.
  • The notice lists penalties for violations of the law:
    • A penalty of no more than 5% of the worker’s gross earnings over the last 12 months, paid by the employer to the misclassified employee.
    • A penalty of up to $250 per misclassified employee for the first violation, then $1000 per misclassified employee for subsequent violations.
    • The imposition of stop-work orders, suspension or revocation of a license or licenses held by the employer, or additional penalties and fees paid to the Department and to the misclassified employees.
  • Employees are protected from retaliation from their employer if they make an inquiry or complaint regarding worker misclassification.
  • Information for reporting worker misclassification can be found at the bottom of the notice.
Shop now
Texas June 2020 Unemployment Compensation and Payday notice
  • Employees who either become unemployed OR have their work hours reduced may be eligible for unemployment assistance.
  • The URL for the Texas Workforce Commission has been updated.
  • The new notice provides more information on what employee information is required for filing a claim.
  • New revision date of 4/20.
Shop now
Virginia June 2020 “Covenant Not to Compete” Prohibited as to Low-Wage Employees
  • The new law defines ‘covenant not to compete’ and ‘low-wage employee.’
    • ‘Covenant not to compete’ is defined as an “…agreement that restrains, prohibits, or otherwise restricts an individual’s ability to compete with his former employer.”
    •  ‘Low wage employees’ are defined as those whose average weekly earnings are less than the average weekly earnings in Virginia, those who are employed without pay, or contractors whose hourly wage falls below the average hourly wage in Virginia
  • Employers cannot enter into, enforce or threaten to enforce non-compete covenants with low-wage employees
  • Low wage employees subject to a covenant have the right to bring civil suits against their employers
  • Employers who violate the law are subject to a civil penalty of $10,000 for each violation
  • The effective date of 7/1/20. Agreements entered before this date are excluded from the law.
Shop now
Indiana May 2020 Indiana Teen Hour Restrictions Law update
  • Break requirements have been eliminated.
  • Hour restrictions for 16- and 17-year-old minors have been simplified and are the same now.
  • Indiana law for a 14- and 15-year-old minor reverts to the law prior to July 1, 2018, and mirrors Federal law. However, Indiana law has added the restriction of not allowing a 14- or 15-year-old minor to work after 7:00 p.m. on any night that is followed by a school day, even if it’s between June 1st and Labor Day, when minors may work until 9:00 p.m.
  • A minor who is at least 16 years of age and less than 18 years of age may not work for more than nine hours in any one day, 40 hours in a school week, 48 hours in a non-school week, and six days in any one week.
  • Restrictions prohibiting 16 and 17 year-olds to work during school hours of 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. without school permission has been removed. Restriction, however, continues to apply to 14- and 15- year-old minors, as this is federal law.
  • Written Parental Permission is only required for minors (16 and 17) working until 11:00 p.m. on a night followed by a school day. All other Parental Permissions have been eliminated.
  • Minors 16 and 17 years old may not work in an establishment open to the public after 10:00 p.m. or before 6:00 a.m. unless another employee at least 18 years of age also works during the same hours as the minor.
    • (Not listed) The Parental Permission form has been simplified.
    • Effective April 1, 2020
Shop now
Nevada May 2020 Minimum Wage Bulletin
  • Effective July 1, 2020:
    • The minimum wage for workers in the lower tier (those employees who have been offered qualifying health benefits) is $8.00 per hour.
    • The minimum wage for all other employees is $9.00 per hour.
  • Please note: this information is already contained on the existing notice
Overtime Bulletin
  • Effective July 1, 2020:
    • Employees who have been offered qualifying health benefits must make less than $12.00 per hour, while also working more than 8 hours in a 24 hour period or over 40 hours in a week, to receive overtime pay at 1-1/2 times their regular rate
    • All other employees must make less than $13.50 per hour, while also working more than 8 hours in a 24 hour period or over 40 hours in a week, to receive overtime pay at 1-1/2 times their regular rate

Both these notices have been updated in English and Spanish

North Carolina May 2020 Wage and Hour Notice
  • Drug Paraphernalia Complaints’ have been added to the Retaliatory Employment Discrimination section of the notice.
  • Other protected activities have been renamed.
Shop now
South Dakota May 2020 Reemployment Assistance
  • The notice now defines when you can file an RA claim. (The first-week employment ends or hours are reduced)
  • More detail is provided regarding how to file a claim online and by phone. The information required to file a claim is now also listed on the notice.
  • New revision date of 5/20
Shop now
Michigan April 2020 Unemployment Compensation Notice to Employees
  • The new notice explicitly lists what items are necessary for an unemployment claim
  • Due to the COVID-19 crisis, submitting an application for benefits satisfies the register for and seeking work (RSW) requirements of the previous notice.
  • Effective date of 3/20
Shop now
Iowa March 2020 Job Safety and Health (OSH)
  • Employee complaints may be filed with OSHA within 30 days of an act of retaliation/discrimination by an employer for:
    • Making safety and health complaints
    • Exercising their rights under the OSH Act
  • Employees have the right to receive copies of medical records or records of their exposure to toxic and harmful substances or conditions.
  • Employers must comply with all occupational safety and health standards issued under the OSH Act.
Shop now
Alabama March 2020 Workers' Compensation
  • New mandatory posting requirement.
  • Spanish version of the notice must now be posted in the workplace.
Child Labor Laws
  • Age 18 added above the section about minors age 16, 17, and 18.
  • Publication Date of 2018
Utah February 2020 Workplace Safety and Health (UOSH)
  • Right to participate in a UOSH inspection extended to employees.
  • UOSH will promptly issue a citation to notify an employer who is in violation of the Utah Act rules and standards.
  • New information added on filing a complaint about state program administration.
  • New Revision Date of 1/15/19
Shop now
Kentucky February 2020 Safety & Health on the Job (OSH)


  • The occupational safety and health standards have been adopted by the Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board.
  • The Board includes the Secretary of Labor, who serves as Chair, and other members who represent agriculture, industry, labor, and the safety and health profession.
  • New Revision Date of February 1, 2020
Shop now
Illinois January 2020 Your Rights Under Illinois Employment Laws - Minimum Wage
  • Minimum wage increases to $9.25 per hour. Notice includes wage increases through Jan. 1, 2025.
  • Domestic workers are now covered under the law even if employer has just one worker.
  • Effective Jan. 1, 2020
Your Rights Under Illinois Employment Laws - Unpaid Wages
  • Employees must be reimbursed for expenditures or losses incurred related to work.
Your Rights Under Illinois Employment Laws - Equal Pay Act
  • Applicants may not be asked about their previous wage or compensation history.
  • Employees may disclose their own wage and benefits info with co-workers/colleagues.
  • African American employees may not be paid less than non-African American employees.
Oklahoma December 2019 Workers' Compensation
  • Employees must file compensation claims for an injury within 6 months from the last date of issuance if they are receiving benefits under Title 85A.
  • A death or injury resulting in loss of time beyond the shift or medical attention away from the work site must be reported by employer within 10 days via Electronic Data Interchange.
  • New Revision Date of 11/21/19
Shop now
New Hampshire September 2019 Employment Discrimination
  • “Gender identity” has been added to the list of protected classes.
Shop now
Arkansas August 2019 Minimum Wage
  • Under Child Labor, the phrase “no boy or girl between the ages of 16 and 18″ replaces “no 16-year-old.”
  • For willful violations, employees seeking to recover unpaid wages may receive an additional sum of liquidated damages.
  • New Revision Date of 8/2019
Shop now
Georgia July 2019 Workers' Compensation—Bill of Rights
  • New benefit maximums for job-related injuries.
  • New benefit maximums for deceased employees’ dependents.
  • New Revision Date of 7/2019
Shop now
Delaware January 2019 Minimum Wage


  • $9.25 effective October 1, 2019
  • $8.75 for adult workers 18 & over, the training wage rate for the first 90 days on a new job.
  • $8.75 per hour,  Youth Rate (14-17 years old)
  • $2.23 per hour, the minimum cash wage payable to employees who receive tips.
  • Handicapped workers and student employees may be paid under the Delaware minimum wage provided their employer has obtained a special certificate from the Delaware Department of Labor.
  • Delaware employers may not pay you under $9.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
Shop now
Kansas December 2018 Workers' Compensation
  • The notice for accidents on or after 5/15/11 has been removed because it is obsolete.
  • The notice for accidents on or after 4/25/13 has been updated – new revision date of 3/18.
Shop now
South Carolina November 2018 Unemployment Insurance
  • Employees who lose their jobs due to domestic violence may be eligible for benefits.
  • Two new websites have been added to the notice. Employees may now:
    • Apply for benefits online
    • Access guidelines for applying for benefits
Shop now
Wyoming October 2018 Workers' Compensation
  • Coverage is now required for extra-hazardous industries and occupations.
  • Employers in non-extra-hazardous industries may also opt for this coverage.
Shop now
Tennessee June 2018 Workers' Compensation
  • Information regarding types of covered employers has been removed.
  • Employers must complete a workplace injury form and notify their workers’ comp insurance company even if they have concerns about the validity of a claim.
  • In an emergency, employers should call an ambulance and provide Form C-42 to the injured employee once stabilized.
Shop now
Hawaii January 2018 HIOSH (Safety & Health)
  • Employers must report:
    • Work-related fatalities within 8 hours
    • Inpatient hospitalizations, amputations, and losses of an eye within 24 hours
  • Workers must be trained in a language and vocabulary they can understand.
  • Penalty amounts have been removed.
  • New Revision Date of January 2018
Wage and Hour Laws
  • Family Leave Law
    • Employees may now use leave to care for a sibling.
  • New Revision Date of 12/15/17
Wisconsin October 2017 Unemployment Insurance
  • Employers must enter their business name and address in the box provided on the notice for employees to reference.
  • New contact information has been provided for employees who need help with online services, assistance due to a disability, and information in alternate formats or languages.
  • New Revision Date of 10/2017
Shop now
West Virginia August 2017 Wage Payment & Collection Act
  • Employers are required to give employees immediate access to their wages through a conveniently located bank.
  • New information regarding wage deductions
  • New Revision Date of June 2017
Shop now
Idaho March 2017 Discrimination
  • Expanded information prohibits age discrimination against individuals who are 40 years of age and above.
  • Individuals may exercise their rights without retaliation.
  • New Revision Date of 3/1/17
Shop now
Nebraska January 2017 Unemployment Insurance
  • New information added about special accommodations
  • Claimants must register for work and create an active, online, and searchable resume in the Nebraska Department of Labor Reemployment and Benefit Services web application.
  • New Revision Date of 9/21/16
Shop now
Pennsylvania October 2016 Unemployment Compensation
  •  Employees must file within the first week of becoming unemployed or they may lose some benefit eligibility
  • New information about Form UC-1609, “How to Apply for Unemployment Compensation Benefits”
  • Changes to information employees need to provide when filing an application
  • New Revision Date of 9/16
Shop now
Federal July 2016 Minimum Wage (FLSA)
  • Updated information in Enforcement section
  • New information states that employers should avoid incorrectly classifying workers as “independent contractors” when they are actually employees
  • New section about accommodations for nursing mothers
  • New Revision Date of 07/16
Polygraph Protection
  • Updated information in Enforcement section
  • New Revision Date of 07/16
OSHA ("It's the Law")
  • Workers have the right to report work-related injuries and illnesses without retaliation
North Dakota August 2015 Minimum Wage & Work Conditions
  • New information about limitations on paid time off
  • Added “pregnancy” to list of prohibited discrimination categories
  • New Effective Date of Aug. 1, 2015
Shop now